Walking Home: A response to street harassment

Directed by Nuala Cabral

“Beautiful! Walk On!” -Ursula Rucker

This is an experimental piece about women ritually facing street harassment as they walk home. Shot in Brooklyn and Philadelphia, it mixes 16mm film, video, poetry and music in an effort to honor and reclaim our humanity in the public sphere. This is for the walkers, talkers and those who say nothing.

Interviews about Walking Home:

Interview with Holly Kearl, author of Stop Street Harassment: Making Public Places Safe and Welcoming for Women.

Takin’ It  To The Streets, Bitch Magazine Interview

Educator, Filmmaker, and Activist Nuala Cabral Takes On Street Harassment, Witness.Org

Media Maker Salon Interview with Professor and Media Justice advocate Bianca Laureano, who recently used Walking Home in her college classroom.

Walking Home was recently featured in Polyphonic Feminisms: Acting in Concertin the Scholar and Feminist Online, a journal published by the Barnard Center for Research on Women.

See responses from fellow bloggers Tokumbo of NYC,  Reza of Rhode Island (RezaRitesRi.com) and a piece by Bianca Laureano on Reality Check that considers the use of “Walking Home” for educational purposes.

What audiences are saying:

“… it made me feel uncomfortable (in a really effective, good way).”

“This short has a very large impact. It said a million words in four minutes.”

“Walking Home is wonderful. Reclaiming our space one step at a time.”

“…your work brought to the forefront of my mind for the first time in many years that hurt, that anger which was never addressed and never healed. It really moved me, exactly what great art does.”

“This piece is dynamic -that exasperated “here we go…” resonates deeply in all our female brains…”

”I felt my blood pressure rise and my body tense as I watched the film and re-lived so many of those same moments captured in the film.  By the end, I just wanted to scream… I think had I seen this when I was younger, I would have been able to identify harrassment (sic) and not hold myself responsible for how others reacted to me.  I think it’s a great tool for lots of people, but especially young women of color.”


About Nuala Cabral

Nuala Cabral is an educator, activist, filmmaker and co-founder of FAAN Mail, a media literacy and activist project based in Philadelphia.
This entry was posted in My Video Work, Street Harassment Activism. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Walking Home: A response to street harassment

  1. Jeanette says:

    right to my heart with this.

  2. Massah says:

    Love this

  3. Boc says:

    This is excellent work. Thank you for making this piece and please, please keep up the good work—- Keep taking it further— all the way. You have amazing and inspiring potential in this world.

Leave a Reply

